Signal Integrity

Power-aware Signal Integrity and EMI/EMC On High-speed Digital Chip-to-Chip Links

Signal Integrity header image 2

Measurement-Based Channel Modeling Using Agilent ADS

Posted December 10th, 2008 · Please leave a comment · Webcast

Share

I’ll be presenting a reprise of our free live webcast "Back to Basics: Measurement-Based Channel Modeling for Signal Integrity using Agilent ADS" on Thursday, Jan 15th, 2009. The premier of this webcast (which was on Oct 23rd, 2008) was aimed at the US time zones. For this reprise, we have an earlier time slot so signal integrity engineers from Europe and the US East Coast can attend live.

Abstract

In this webcast, we’ll demonstrate a rapid technique for "what if" analysis for signal integrity applications.

We first automatically fit an ADS circuit model to measured data, using a Tyco XAUI backplane as an illustrative example. Next, the circuit model is used in a series of "what if" simulations to that show what configuration changes will lead to the required performance. Examples include changes to the loss tangent, the via design, and daughter card/backplane trace impedance matching, and combinations of all three. This technique is a much faster and more thorough approach to explore the design space than "iterating the hardware to success."

Who should view this webcast

Signal integrity engineers for multigigabit links who are running into effects previously only seen in RF and microwave circuits.

Date/time

Thursday, January 15th, 2009, 15:00 Central Europe Time, 2PM GMT, 9AM Eastern Standard Time, 8AM Central Standard Time.

Registration

"Back to Basics Redux: Measurement-Based Channel Modeling for Signal Integrity using Agilent ADS"

If you’re a West coasters and don’t want to get up early (6AM), or if you can’t attend live for any other reason, the on-demand version with a recording of the Oct 23rd live Q&A is here: "Back to Basics: Measurement-Based Channel Modeling for Signal Integrity using Agilent ADS"

Also check out the on-demand sister webcast TDR, S-Parameters & Differential Measurements Webcast if you’d like to learn about how the S-parameters, used in my webcast, were measured.

MP3 podcast of this post

Tags: ···

Please leave the first comment so far ↓

Please leave the first comment.

Leave a Comment